So you installed a Joomla! website? You even managed to install extensions for your Joomla? You might be quite proud of yourself and what you built; this is completely natural and alright! But, did you ever thought about from where all those extensions and even Joomla! are coming from?

Where do the extensions and Joomla! come from?

Joomla! and all the available extensions are produced by a multitude of different people from around the world just for you, programmed, supported, fixed, translated and developed. Voluntarily, open source and often for free. So your final website is based on a lot of preliminary work and initiative of many people. Without them, your goal would be very distant and hard to reach.

Joomla! is used globally from millions of people. Each of them is saving a lot of time and as well money with Joomla!, and the related extensions. Might it be on a personal, hobby or business related project. Wouldn´t it be tremendous, if only a fraction of this saved time or money would flow back to the developers or the supporting community? Imagine how much would come together!

Money is expensive...

You might say: “Joomla! is for free, I don´t want to spend money for it.” That's alright. But, how about if you would, let´s say, spend daily 10 minutes of your saved time back to the community instead?

Level Up - Or: “What may I do?”

There are innumerous possibilities to give something back to the community. Here the Level-System begins. If you would like to invest time in the community, start at Level 1, it´s easy. Then slowly try to reach the next level. You will see, it isn´t so hard to achieve.

Level 1 - Be grateful

You for sure integrated different extensions in your website, which you downloaded from one or several developers. Did you ever thanked him personally and if yes, without asking a (free) support question or making a feature request? Here´s the deal: Just pick an e-mail address of one of the developers (you might have a look at his homepage) and write him, that you really like his extension and that you would like to say “thank you” for his dedicated work. He will be certainly happy about your message.

Personal experience showed, that e-mails from users might be divided in three categories :

  1. Inquires in where (mainly free) support is requested
  2. Feature requests, mainly using: “If you implement this or that feature, I will use your extension, otherwise it is rendered unusable.”
  3. Ranting and moaning, if one, from users point of view, not react in his timeframe or not as expected

It happens very seldom, that somebody just writes to say “thank you”. Help to start a new trend!

Duration:about 3 minutes each e-mail

Level 2 - Write (fair) reviews

You like one particular extension very much? In this case share your experience and let others participate from it. Using the Joomla! Extension Directory you may give a rating to each extension, from 1 to 5 and as well share your experiences, writing a so called “Review”. There are as well other ways, besides the Joomla! Extension Directory, if you are uncomfortable using it. Why not writing a review on your own Website?

We are using reviews all the time, might it be on a online auction or Shop, even about the choice of a craftsman we do share our opinion. Like that not only the developer is happy if the users are reporting about his work and don´t hesitate to do a (positive) review or rating. It is, although, important that the review is fair and in a constructive manner. If the extension does not function properly on your site, but some other 1000 users do not encounter any problem, it probably isn´t the extensions fault. In this case it would not be useful to drop a bad review. First try contacting the support because in this case your help and cooperation would be even more important. (By the way, did you already thanked the developer investing his time an knowledge? - See Level 1)

Duration: about 5 minutes each review.

Level 3 - Help others

If you installed Joomla! and created an own website, you already got some knowledge about Joomla!. Why not sharing this with others! You might think that you are a beginner and that you aren´t able to teach something to anybody. I may encourage you, it isn´t like that. It is a fact, that really everybody(!!) knows something that someone else doesn´t know.

Why not register in one of the several support forums or visit a chat and have a look if you might help to solve beginner questions. If you use extensions in Joomla! then you for sure already encountered a problem and, maybe, you even managed to solve it. Other users will have the same problem and you already might start helping them. Customizing Templates, positioning modules and much more might be a potential problem where users got questions. For sure you might be of help in some cases.

Different Forums

Online chat systems

Duration: about 10 minutes each forum posting

Level 4 - Report bugs and share enhancements with others

You are using an extension and found a little bug or even enhanced something? That’s great! Why not share it with others?

Most developers provide a support forum or a bug tracker, there you may communicate your enhancements to the public. Otherwise you might send it by email to the developer, he for sure will be grateful for your help.

Found a bug in Joomla! itself

If you found a bug in Joomla! you may report it using the Joomla! Issues Tracker.

Duration: about 10 minutes

Level 5 - Test, Document and Translate

Most developer will provide some beta versions to the public. During this phase it is important that he receives support from the users. If you find a test version than help and test it out, report bugs to the developer. Don´t wait until others do the job, get active yourself. Somebody has to do the start and so others will join.

With new versions often new functions are introduced. Many developers provide an open documentation platform where everybody may send in articles. If you already are experienced with a particular extension why not helping to complete the documentation, explaining features and pitfalls or just writing a “how-to” (see Level 3). Every other user and as well the developer will be grateful.

Another point which is important when releasing new versions are the translations. Almost every extension ships some standard language files. But there are a lot of different languages in this world and maybe you are dominating one of the missing ones or could complete and correct an existing one. Perfect! Just start translating an existent language in to yours or correct it. The developer will be grateful if you send him a better or even a new version.

...and the same for Joomla!

As well Joomla! searches constantly for beta tester. At Joomla! Tracker you will find feature functions which riside there as a patch. Those enhancements need a certain number of tester before they find their way into Joomla!. Participate!

As well there exist a big variety of Joomla! documentations where you may write and correct. If you stumbled over a special Joomla! feature or you even have some knowledge at the extension side, just share your experience as a documentation.

Last but not least, help to stay up-to-date with the Joomla! language files:

Most countries have user groups / teams and provide their own languages to Joomla! Find yours:

Duration: about 30-120 minutes

Level 6 - Spread the Level System

The more people participate, the more time will be invested in Joomla! - seems clear. So spread the link to this website to your friends and colleagues or to just everyone who uses Joomla!. This might start a transformation, away from the “all-free” thinking towards a mindset of helping others.

You are very welcome to translate this article to another language which doesn´t exist until now. Send it to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. I will be pleased to publish your translation!

Duration: about 1-120 minutes

Level 7 - Donation to the developers

You passed Level 1 - 6 with a breeze and you would like to help more? Why not donate a little amount to one or several developers? Each developer will be pleased and it is an additional motivation to program extensions for the community. The donation value don´t have to be high, investing only 10 USD each month would be already enough. Surely you might rise this value if you save a lot of time or if you even gain money out of it.

If you are a service provider which earns money with Joomla!, is it through installation and setup of Joomla! or web design, you always need extensions. Why not investing each time 5% of your turnover for developer donations? Through this motivation the extension will prevail in future and this helps you as well.

Duration: about 2 minutes
Investment: 10 USD - any amount

Level 8 - Develop yourself or hire a developer

The Mount Everest of the Level System is your own development. Create your own extensions and share it to the community. Like this you help some other thousands of users and as well the forthcoming of Joomla! itself.

...but I do not know programming

If you can´t program you could still hire a programmer which would create an extension for your site. This extension you might publish to the community. It´s the same like your own development.

Your own benefit

Maybe the users of your extension know about the Level System an you will benefit directly of it.

Duration: any
Investment: any

And what Level do you reach?

Joomla! has been downloaded over 30 million times already. Imagine, if each day just one million Joomla! users would invest 10 minutes of their time for the community. This would equal 300.000.000 minutes each months. During this time 100.000.000 “thank you” mails could be sent or 60.000.000 reviews written. This might generate as well 30.000.000 forum posts, 30.000.000 bug messages or 10.000.000 documentation articles. Mind you, each months... extrapolated to one year... this would sum up a tremendous figure.

Or you would rather like to donate 10 USD each month? That would equal, assuming one million Joomla! users participating, 10.000.000 USD each month. There exist about 10.000 extensions for Joomla! and in this case each developer would earn on average 1000 USD / month. This is an incredbily high amount!

Just get active!

Du hast eine Webseite mit Joomla! aufgesetzt? Du hast es sogar geschafft, zusätzliche Erweiterungen in dein Joomla! zu installieren? Du wirst wahrscheinlich sehr stolz auf das Erreichte sein; und das zurecht! Aber hast du schon mal darüber nachgedacht, woher all die Erweiterungen und auch Joomla! selbst kommen?

Woher kommen die Erweiterungen und Joomla?

Joomla! sowie die verfügbaren Erweiterungen werden von einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Menschen aus der ganzen Welt für dich programmiert, supportet, repariert, übersetzt und weiterentwickelt. Freiwillig, quelloffen und zumeist auch kostenlos. Das Ergebnis deiner Mühen basiert somit auf die Vorarbeit und Initiative vieler Menschen, ohne die dein Ziel nur sehr schwer erreichbar gewesen wäre.

Joomla! wird weltweit von Millionen von Menschen genutzt. Jeder einzelne Nutzer spart durch Joomla! und dessen Erweiterungen viel Zeit und auch Geld. Sei es privat, im Hobby oder im Beruf. Wäre es nun nicht super, wenn nur ein Bruchteil dieser gesparten Zeit oder auch des gesparten Geldes zurück an die Entwickler oder an die supportende Community fließen würde? Stell dir nur vor, wie viel da zusammen kommen würde!

Geld ist teuer ...

„Joomla! ist kostenlos“, wirst du sagen, „ich möchte dafür kein Geld ausgeben müssen.“ Das ist auch völlig ok. Wie wäre es, wenn du stattdessen z.B. täglich 10 Minuten deiner gesparten Zeit an die Community zurück gibst.

Level Up - Oder: „Was kann ich tun?“

Es gibt sehr viele Möglichkeiten, etwas zurückzugeben. Hier kommt das Level-System ins Spiel. Wenn du zum ersten Mal Zeit in die Community investieren möchtest, fange einfach bei Level 1 an und arbeite dich langsam hoch. Du wirst sehen: Es ist gar nicht so schwer.

Level 1 - Sei dankbar

Du verwendest sicher eine Vielzahl verschiedener Erweiterungen, welche du von einem oder mehreren Entwicklern herunter geladen und in deine Seite integriert hast. Hast du dich schon mal bei einem dieser Entwickler persönlich bedankt und wenn ja, auch ohne gleichzeitig eine (kostenlose) Supportanfrage zu stellen oder Feature-Wünsche zu äußern? Hier ein Vorschlag: Such dir doch einfach mal die E-Mail-Adresse eines Entwicklers heraus (z.B. von der Entwicklerhomepage) und schreibe ihm, dass du seine Erweiterung toll findest und dich deshalb für seine Arbeit bedanken möchtest. Er wird sich ganz bestimmt darüber freuen.

Eigene Erfahrungen haben gezeigt, dass E-Mails von Nutzern in drei Bereiche eingeteilt werden können:

  1. Anfragen, in denen (zumeist kostenloser) Support verlangt wird
  2. Featurerequests, meistens im Wortlaut: „Wenn du dieses und jenes Feature einbaust, dann werde ich die Erweiterung nutzen, ansonsten ist sie nicht zu gebrauchen.“
  3. Beschimpfungen, wenn man (aus Sicht des Nutzers) nicht schnell oder im Sinne des Nutzers reagiert

Selten schreibt jemand eine E-Mail einfach nur um sich zu bedanken. Hilf mit, einen neuen Trend zu starten.

Zeitaufwand:ca. 3 Minuten pro E-Mail

Level 2 - Schreibe (faire) Reviews

Dir gefällt eine bestimmte Erweiterung besonders? Dann teile deine Meinung mit anderen und lass sie von deiner Erfahrung mit der Erweiterung profitieren. Auf der Joomla! Extensions Seite kannst du zu jeder Erweiterung eine Bewertung von 1-5 abgeben und Erfahrungsberichte, sogenannte "Reviews" verfassen. Es muss dabei nicht immer das Joomla! Extension Directory sein. Wenn es zum Thema der Seite oder des Blogs passt, aber auch wenn Schwierigkeiten mit der Sprache daran hindern sollten, spricht nichts gegen einen Erfahrungsbericht auf der eigenen Internetseite.

Sei es bei der Online-Auktion oder dem Versandhaus, ja sogar bei der Wahl des Handwerkers bedienen wir uns heute Erfahrungsberichten. So ist nicht nur alleine der Entwickler froh darüber, wenn die Nutzer der Erweiterung die Arbeit wertschätzen und sich dafür die Mühe machen eine (positive) Bewertung abzugeben. Wichtig ist jedoch, dass die Bewertung fair und konstruktiv ist. Wenn die Erweiterung bei dir nicht funktioniert, sie aber scheinbar bei 1000 anderen Nutzern ohne Probleme ihre Aufgabe erfüllt, dann liegt es sehr wahrscheinlich nicht an der Erweiterung. Es ist daher nicht sehr sinnvoll eine schlechte Bewertung abzugeben. Kontaktiere zuerst den Support, denn in einem solchen Fall ist deine Hilfe und Mitarbeit um so wichtiger. (Hast du dich eigentlich schon beim Entwickler für seine investierte Zeit bedankt? - siehe Level 1)

Zeitaufwand: ca. 5 Minuten pro Review

Level 3 - Hilf anderen

Wenn du Joomla! installiert und eine eigene Seite erstellt hast, dann hast du schon Wissen über Joomla! angesammelt. Teile dieses Wissen doch mit anderen. Du wirst denken, dass du ja nur ein Anfänger bist und eh niemandem etwas beibringen kannst. Ich kann dir sagen, dem ist nicht so. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass wirklich jeder(!!) etwas weiß, was jemand anderes noch nicht kennt.

Registrier dich doch einfach mal in einem der vielen Supportforen oder geh in einen Chat und schaue, ob du z.B. eine Anfängerfrage beantworten kannst. Wenn du Erweiterungen in Joomla! nutzt, dann hattest du bestimmt auch schon Probleme damit, die du lösen konntest. Andere Nutzer werden dieselben Probleme haben, hilf ihnen. Auch das Anpassen von Templates, das Positionieren von Modulen und vieles mehr birgt Fallstricke, bei denen Nutzer Fragen haben. Bestimmt kannst du da manchmal helfen.

Verschiedene Foren

Verschiedene Chatsysteme

Zeitaufwand: ca. 10 Minuten pro Forenpost

Level 4 - Melde Bugs und teile Verbesserungen mit anderen

Du nutzt eine Erweiterung und hast in dieser kleine Fehler entdeckt oder sogar etwas daran verbessert? Super, lass doch auch andere davon profitieren.

Die meisten Entwickler haben ein Supportforum oder einen Bugtracker, dort kannst du deine Verbesserungen der Öffentlichkeit mitteilen. Anderenfalls kannst du deine Verbesserungen auch als E-Mail an den Entwickler schicken. Entwickler sind dafür immer sehr dankbar.

Fehler in Joomla! selbst

Hast du einen Fehler in Joomla! selbst entdeckt, so kannst du diesen auf dem Joomla! Issue Tracker melden.

Zeitaufwand: ca. 10 Minuten

Level 5 - Teste, dokumentiere und übersetze

Die meisten Entwickler werden hin und wieder eine Betaversion ihrer Erweiterung freigeben. In dieser Phase ist es sehr wichtig, dass der Entwickler Unterstüzung durch viele Tester bekommt. Wenn du siehst, dass es für deine Komponente eine Testversion gibt, dann teste diese und melde gefundene Fehler an den Entwickler. Warte nicht, bis andere es getestet haben, sondern werde selbst aktiv, denn oftmals werden die anderen auch nicht testen.

Mit neuen Versionen kommen meist auch neue Funktionen daher. Viele Entwickler haben eine öffentliche Dokumentation, in die jeder schreiben darf. Wenn du die Erweiterung schon eine Weile nutzt, hilf doch mit die Dokumentation zu ergänzen, Funktionen zu erklären, Fallstricke zu erklären oder einfach Anleitungen zu schreiben (siehe Level 3). Jeder andere Nutzer und auch der Entwickler werden dir dankbar sein.

Ein weiterer Punkt, der bei neuen Versionen berührt wird, sind die Sprachdateien. Fast jede Erweiterung liefert ein paar Standardsprachdateien mit. Jedoch gibt es sehr viele Sprachen auf der Welt, und du beherrschst vielleicht eine davon, die nicht mit der Erweiterung mitgeliefert wird oder nicht vollständig ist bzw. Fehler enthält. Perfekt, übersetze eine bestehende Datei in eine andere Sprache oder korrigiere Fehler. Der Entwickler wird sich freuen, wenn du ihm deine Datei zusenden wirst.

...und das gleiche für Joomla!

Auch für Joomla! werden andauernd Tester gesucht. Im Joomla! Tracker gibt es viele zukünftige Funktionen, die nur als Patch vorliegen. Diese benötigen eine bestimmte Anzahl an Testern, bevor sie in Joomla! übernommen werden können, sei einer davon.

Auch gibt es für Joomla! viele Dokumentationen, dort kann jeder schreiben und verbessern. Bist du über eine Besonderheit in Joomla! gestolpert oder kennst dich ein bisschen mit Erweiterungen aus, dann schreibe doch dein Wissen in eine der Dokumentationen

Oder zu guter Letzt, hilf mit, Sprachdateien für Joomla! aktuell zu halten:

Zeitaufwand: ca. 30-120 Minuten

Level 6 - Verbreite das Levelsystem

Je mehr mitmachen, desto mehr Zeit wird in Joomla! investiert - logisch. Also gib den Link zu dieser Seite weiter, an Freunde, Bekannte oder jeden anderen der Joomla! einsetzt. Vielleicht läutet das ganze ein Umdenken ein, weg von der Kostenlosmentalität hin zu einer Mentalität des Helfens.

Du kannst auch gerne diesen Text in eine Sprache übersetzen, die hier noch nicht existiert und an Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein! senden. Ich werde ihn dann hier unter dieser Sprache veröffentlichen

Zeitaufwand: ca. 1-120 Minuten

Level 7 - Spende etwas an Entwickler

Du hast Level 1 - 6 ohne Probleme hinter dich gebracht und willst noch weiter helfen? Dann spende doch einen kleinen Geldbetrag an einen oder mehrere Entwickler. Jeder Entwickler freut sich darüber und es ist eine zusätzliche Motivation Erweiterungen für die Community zu erstellen. Der Geldbetrag braucht nicht groß zu sein, es reichen z.B. 10€ pro Monat zu investieren. Gerne aber auch mehr, wenn du durch die Komponente selbst sehr viel Geld einsparst oder sogar verdienst.

Bist du selbst ein Dienstleister, der mit Joomla! Geld verdient, sei es durch das Installieren und Einrichten von Joomla! oder das Erstellen kompletter Webseiten, dann wirst du immer wieder auf Erweiterungen zurückgreifen. Investiere doch jedes mal, wenn du dadurch Geld verdienst, 5% deines Umsatzes in Spenden an Entwickler. Durch diese Motivationsspritze wird die Erweiterung mit größerer Wahrscheinlichkeit auch in Zukunft weiter existieren. Das hilft dann auch wieder dir.

Zeitaufwand: ca. 2 Minuten
Geldaufwand: 10€ - beliebiger Betrag

Level 8 - Entwickle selbst oder bezahle Entwickler

Der Mount Everest des Levelsystems ist die Eigenentwicklung. Entwickle eigene Erweiterungen und stelle sie der Community zur Verfügung. Damit hilfst du Tausenden von Nutzern und auch der Weiterentwicklung von Joomla! selbst.

...aber ich kann doch nicht Programmieren

Wenn du nicht programmieren kannst, dann kannst du doch z.B. Programmierer anheuern, die Erweiterungen für deine Seite erstellen. Diese Erweiterungen kannst du dann veröffentlichen und der Community zur Verfügung stellen. Das ist genauso gut wie eine Eigenentwicklung

Selbst profitieren

Vielleicht haben dann die Nutzer deiner Erweiterung auch diesen Text gelesen und du profitierst von Level 1-7!

Zeitaufwand: beliebig
Geldaufwand: beliebig

Und welchen Level erreichst du?

Joomla! wurde schon über 30 Millionen mal herunter geladen. Stell dir vor, wenn jeden Tag nun eine Million Joomla! Nutzer 10 Minuten Zeit für die Community investieren. Das wären pro Monat 300.000.000 Minuten. Davon könnte 100.000.000 mal Danke gesagt oder 60.000.000 Reviews verfasst werden. Das könnten auch 30.000.000 Forenposts, 30.000.000 Bugmeldungen oder 10.000.000 Dokumentationsbeiträge sein. Pro Monat wohlgemerkt...hochgerechnet auf ein Jahr...da kommen unglaubliche Zahlen zusammen.

Oder willst du lieber 10€ pro Monat spenden? Das wären bei einer Million Joomla! Nutzer 10.000.000€ pro Monat. Es gibt knapp 10.000 Erweiterungen für Joomla!, da würde dann jeder Entwickler durchschnittlich 1000€ pro Monat erhalten. Das ist doch eine unglaublich große Zahl!

Also werde aktiv!